7 words of advice to my kids

My wife, Marla Smart, is a “Douglas County Moms” blogger.  She and I have three kids.  Two girls and a boy.  It’s always been important for us to pass on good values to our children.  Eventually you have to let them go and trust the seeds of wisdom you have planted in their lives will take root and grow.  I realize that I won’t always be able to be there for my kids.  So just in case I can’t be there, here are seven words of advice I’d like to offer my children this Father’s Day.

1) You can trust your bible. God’s word will guide you and give you wisdom for life.  Learn it, love it, know it and use it.

2) Learn the value of accountability.  It will keep your course straight when you are tempted to compromise your values.

3) Walk in integrity. Telling the truth, keeping your word and being trustworthy may seem like old fashioned values but they will serve you well in life.

4) Guard your tongue. I have always tried to never say anything about another person that I wouldn’t say if they were right there with me.

5) Have a good work ethic.  Promotion often goes to the one who works the hardest, not the one who knows the most.

6) Choose your friends carefully. We tend to become like those we hang out with.  Make sure you choose friends who will lift you up, not bring you down.

7) “Question with boldness, hold to the truth, speak without fear.”  I’ve always loved this quote from Thomas Jefferson.  The world needs people who are not afraid to confront darkness.  Let your light shine!

One last thing, wherever you go, whatever you do always remember that my love for you is not based on your performance.  If you fall down, get back up and do the next right thing.

Note:  This article was previously published Fathers Day weekend at … http://www.nrtoday.com/news/11795064-113/moms-smart-values-choose

About Jerry Smart

Originally from the great state of Texas, I am now the Pastor of a Foursquare Church in Winston, Oregon. I am happily married to my lovely wife Marla. We have three awesome children, Emile, Taylor and Hayden. I am fascinated by religion, history, anthropology and physics. If the T.V. is on I am probably watching a documentary of some kind.
This entry was posted in My Lists Of Seven Things... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 7 words of advice to my kids

  1. faerylandmom says:

    I love it.

Leave a comment